Tags

, , , ,

Amazon provides a bunch of cloud services like IaaS, SaaS, DaaS etc. This page gives you tutorials about how to use AWS’s services. http://bit.ly/ZYKl4y

In this post I will only focus on the IaaS part and try to compare it against IBM’s Smart Cloud since both of them provide an IaaS cloud service. A tutorial about how to provision an instance within AWS can be found in http://bit.ly/12fIE0u

1.Both of them are able to provision a bunch of operation systems. However for IBM’s approach you need to provide your own license for commercial OS like Windows. For AWS it provides an amazon license (I successfully installed Windows 2012 through AWS on 02/05/2013. No license required.) I noticed Windows 2012 is free for 180 days. Thus I think IBM supports more types of OS.

2.Amazon provides a more convenient way to access its instance. For instance after provisioning a windows instance ,for IBM you need to do the remote desk by yourself (unfortunately I am using windows 8 and I have no idea where remote desk is situated), but AWS provides a remote desk file. So I just double click that file and input my password.All done.

3.I am located in Australia. I can provision an instance in Australia. But IBM does not provide an Australian region, so I have to use Singapore instead. I am not saying Singapore is not safe. But as an Australian, my instance is oversea. The user experience is not good. BTW as I know one of IBM’s policies is you need to put your cloud stuff within Australia.

4. When right click the provisioned instance, AWS provides a Amazon menu (which provides some short cuts for some basic features like reboot machine, terminate machine etc.) while IBM gives a normal browser menu. Below is the menu from AWS.

Image

5. For IBM Smart Cloud I am an enterprise user, thus I have more options in CPU and Memory. For AWS I am a free user, thus what I can use is just 1core CPU and only 613M of memory. But for a purchase user AWS provides more options. Please see below I found the max number of CPU is 16 and the max number memory it supports is 60.5G.

criteria

=====

Summary

In this post, I compared Amazon AWS and IBM Smart Cloud Enterprise. Both of them are good candidates for IaaS. However based on my experience, IBM has a long way to go against this field.

